Wright State University

Department of Theatre, Dance and Motion Pictures

Dance Program
3640 Colonel Glen Highway

Dayton OH 45435-0001
Program Head Teressa Wylie McWilliams, Coordinator
Phone 937/775-3792 Fax 937/775-3787 E-mail teressa.mcwilliams@wright.edu Website www.wright.edu/tdmp


Teressa Wylie McWilliams, Coordinator and Professor of Dance, jazz, tap, modern, choreography, musical theatre dance
Gina Walther, Associate Professor of Dance, modern, jazz, choreography

Erin Robbins, Adjuct Ballet, ballet, pointe

Gregory Robinson, Adjuct Ballet, ballet, men’s class

Carol Fisher, PT Advisor

Kevin Anderson, Accompanist
Michelle Goodman, Faculty Associate, ballet, dance history, pedagogy, kinesiology

Program Philosophy

The BFA degree program in dance enables serious dance students to hone their skills and deepen their technical ability in order to become strong, versatile dancers. With a faculty that is rich in professional experience, the dance program offers the opportunity to study and perform in all three major dance genres of ballet, modern and jazz. WSU’s dance program is integrated with the acting and musical theatre programs, giving our dance students unique opportunities to grow and explore multiple disciplines. The underpinning of the dance curriculum is the daily ballet class in technique, with specialized training in modern and jazz/theatre dance.Training is completed with studies in dance history, dance pedagogy, improvisation, choreography, pointe, men’s class, pas de deux, tap, acting and voice. Additional training and performance opportunities for exceptional majors are available through an exchange program with Dayton Ballet II and Dayton Contemporary Dance Company II.

Degrees Offered BFA
Degree Requirements 120 credit hours, 82 in dance, 4 in acting, 3 in private voice, 5 in music, 7 elective; 38 general education hours
Faculty 3 FT, 3 PT
Academic Facilities 4 studios
Production Facilities 100-seat studio theatre, 375-seat mainstage
Productions 2-3
Institution Type public
Location SW Ohio
Enrollment approximately 17,775
in department 43 dance majors
Annual Tuition 8,730 resident,
$17,350 nonresident
Annual Room and Board averages $9,436 Department Financial Aid scholarships for majors accepted into Dayton Ballet II or Dayton Contemporary Dance Company II
Other Financial Aid merit scholarships, work study

Student Company Wright State University Dance Ensemble