The Ohio State University

Department of Dance
316 Sullivant Hall
1813 N. High Street
Columbus, OH 43210

Contact Information

Phone: 614/292-7977 Fax: 614/292-0939
E-mail: dance@osu.edu
Website: www.dance.osu.edu

Chair: Susan Hadley, Professor

External Relations Coordinator: Damian Bowerman
Email: bowerman.11@osu.edu

Faculty

Harmony Bench, Assistant Professor – bench.9@osu.edu

Michael Kelly Bruce, Associate Professor – Emeriti

David Covey, Professor – covey.1@osu.edu

Melanye White Dixon, Associate Professor – dixon.199@osu.edu

Karen Eliot, Professor – eliot.4@osu.edu

Nadine George-Graves, Professor – george.946@osu.edu

Susan Hadley – hadley.4@osu.edu

Hannah Kosstrin, Assistant Professor – kosstrin.1@osu.edu

Nyama McCarthy-Brown, Assistant Professor – mccarthy-brown.1@osu.edu

Crystal Michelle Perkins, Assistant Professor – fuller.309@osu.edu

Bebe Miller, Professor – Emeriti

Susan Van Pelt Petry, Professor – petry.37@osu.edu

Daniel Roberts, Assistant Professor – roberts.338@osu.edu

Mitchell Rose, Associate Professor – rose.320@osu.edu

Valarie Williams, Professor, Arts and Humanities Associate Dean – Williams.1415@osu.edu

Norah Zuniga-Shaw, Associate Professor – zuniga-shaw.1@osu.edu

Retired Professors
Helen Alkire
Melanie Bales – bales.1@osu.edu
Karen Bell – bell.1@osu.edu
Vera J. Blaine – Not in directory
Odette Blum – blum.1@osu.edu
Michael Kelly Bruce –  bruce.8@osu.edu
Candace Feck – feck.1@osu.edu
Angelika Gerbes – gerbes.1@osu.edu
John Giffin – giffin.1@osu.edu
Louise Guthman
Ann Lilly – lilly.1@osu.edu
Vera Maletic
Sheila Marion
Beryl Miller – miller.2506@osu.edu
Victoria Uris – uris.1@osu.edu
Lucy Venable – venable.1@osu.edu

Lecturers
Dale Beaver – beaver.77@osu.edu
Maryanna Klatt – klatt.8@osu.edu
Alex Dickson
Karen Mozingo – mozingo.3@osu.edu
Danielle Schoon – schoon.2@osu.edu
Joyce Patron – patrone.5@osu.edu
Christina Providence – providence.1@osu.edu
Edward Taketa – taketa.1@osu.edu
Andre M. Zachery – zachery.6@osu.edu

Administrative and Professional Staff
Susan Chess, Musician Supervisor
Email: chess.1@osu.edu
Carolyn Cox, Production Coordinator
Email: cox.193@osu.edu
Oded Huberman, Interdisciplinary Production Manager
Email: huberman.1@osu.edu
Amy Schmidt, Academic Program Coordinator
Email: schmidt.442@osu.edu
Lindsay Simon, Costume Designer
Email: simon.213@osu.edu
Carolyn Jakubczak, Ticket Office Manager
Email: jakubczak.1@osu.edu
Edward Quinn , ASC Undergraduate Advisor
Email: quinn.142@osu.edu
Chris Summer, Media Manager
Email: summers.171@osu.edu

Program Philosophy

The Department of Dance offers curricular programs that emphasize the study of contemporary modern dance. All programs share an approach that views dance as a humanistic art-discipline and performance as the central mode of learning. With coursework in modern dance and ballet technique, movement fundamentals, performance/repertory, choreography, music for dance, Labanotation, dance history, dance education, world dance forms, African-based dance forms, and lighting, this program is designed to expand the dimensions of the dance experience for each student and provide them with substantial knowledge about the field and a vision of where they are in relation to it.


Degrees Offered: BFA,MFA, PhD, Dance Minor

Areas of Focus: performance, choreography, Labanotation, history, technology, education.

Academic Facilities: During 2011-13 renovation space, 4 studios, use of mediated performance and teaching space EMMA Lab at ACCAD, costume shop and production in Department of Theater and EMMA Lab spaces, class and conference room, college computer labs, department high-end video editing computer stations

Production Facilities: Deptartment new space in Sullivant Hall in 2013

Productions: Faculty and visiting artist, winter and spring student performances, graduate project performances, annual repertory performance usually in spring

Institution Type: Public

Enrollment: 50,000-60,000 in university; in department: approximately 100-125 undergraduate majors, 30-35 graduate students, 3-8 PhD students, 100+ minors, 700+ non-majors

Annual Tuition: $10,037 (resident) or $25,445 (nonresident); for the most up-to-date info on university enrollment, tuition and fees, go to http://undergrad.osu.edu/costs.html

Annual Room and Board: $10,392

Departmental Financial Aid: Graduate associateships, fellowships, undergraduate scholarships

Other Financial Aid: Loans, work-study, university scholarships via federal FAFSA application, http://sfa.osu.edu

Return